#SHIPAfrica Scholarship: Letter to the Finalists

 

 

 

A few hours to announce the Winner of the #SHIPAfrica #SHIPCampaign Scholarship and I wrote this email to all of the five finalists:

 

Dear Candidate,

This message is personally from Love.

I really want to let you all know that I am proud of you beyond words, Uzoma, Obende, Sunday, Ifeoluwa and Martha (in no particular order).

I wish that I had increased the number of winners and I still wish I could give a consolation prize.

But you do not need to be consoled. There is no loser. You are with me and you should know that you have someone to talk to if you need any assistance. I do not have all the answers, I am a student just like you. I know what it feels like to study in Nigeria and how frustrating the system can be sometimes. Studying abroad really opened my eyes to many things and I know that it is possible to replicate some of the best practices at home.

I loved all your essays and you are all winners.

I have tried as much as possible to get you nothing but the best mentors. Not just mentors that I could reach but mentors who are objectively the best in their field and in mentoring young people and doing great things for Africa and that I feel honoured to know.

The goal is such that you will value your mentors more highly than the N100,000 and whoever wins will also feel more accomplished knowing that they have been assigned to a certain mentor, than basing their accomplishment on the cash prize.

The judges keep sending in comments and recommendations and I can tell you, as a thing of pride, that you people have made it very difficult to pick a winner. I want you to see the cash money as a trophy (whoever wins it), the mentors are the real prize!

Here is a list of the mentors, you will each be assigned to one.

  • Anne Ezeh
  • Linus Okorie
  • Ayo Adegboye
  • Rex Idaminabo
  • Dr. Mininim Oseji*

One mentor is yet to respond, hence the 4 names above (*honoured to say that 6am this morning, Sunday morning, Dr Oseji replied my message, sent to her just yesterday). You can do your research on them and let me know if you have any particular preference. However, we have analysed your profiles and locations and may have to assign you based on the mentor we feel would match your profile and your future projects. The mentorship process will start in September/October since most of the mentors have to travel for the summer or for conferences.

Be nice to them. Show them what you are made of, let them know you are ready. For some of you, this is the beginning of a life-long partnership, for some of you, the mentors may just give you  a few words of advise and the link will be cut off. But these are very busy people and I hope you understand. These are people who have believed in me and watched me grow. The speed of their positive response to mentor you is beyond me, and I hope you make them feel proud to know you, and not just the other way round. I have bragged about you to them, keep doing Africa proud!

 

Thank you and Kind regards,

Love

 

Leave a Reply

