Starting With What You Have: The Scholarship

It has always been my dream to provide affordable or free education in my society, (to mention but one of these basic necessities I intend to help people with to improve their quality of living).

love-aludo_hovasabee

My life is not perfect,…yet…but I have always had the culture of sharing my resources with people who have less, who need it, people I know and those I don’t. My siblings and I learnt it from our parents.

I had a friend of mine from my department in my previous University place an announcement for applications for Financial Aid for students from low-income homes in the Department’s Facebook Group.

I didn’t want them to know it was me, and they had to send the essay “How Education Has Changed My Life” to an email address that I have, and I’m sure they wouldn’t guess was mine. I graduated in 2011, so they wouldn’t guess…I think, I’m sure.

Another friend of mine wants me to make it a real scholarship with my name attached to it, but I’m like, I really just want to share from my own monthly scholarship money for now, I’m not some rich lady (yet) trying to give away a huge sum. I want to start with connecting first of all, starting from my own home university where I graduated from, to connect with someone like me, someone who is eager to learn, who seizes opportunities, someone who needs the cash to live relatively more comfortably while they study, and not to stress about the many financial cares of this world…lol

When I was still in the University of Benin, I would just walk up to the freshman class in my department and reach anyone I was led to with what I had, just to encourage them.

(In another post I will share with you how somehow in 2015, one of the students in 100 level I encouraged with a small cash gift (in 2008) for being a good goalkeeper for our team, helped me in Abuja on the eve of my passport appointment (about 2 a.m September 2015), when I was stranded. I didn’t even know his name, but my friend Emmanuel kept calling his name as if I knew him and it didn’t ring any bell).

Giving is my life, education is one of my passions and this could get big in future, it will get big, but my dilemma now is, should I tell them it’s me? I have a good reputation in the department, but I don’t want too much formalities to slow down this process, the deadline is 30th March, no one has responded yet.

My friend who lectures in the department made an announcement to the students and some of them screamed “How Much?” I laughed and said “That’s cute but that’s not what I’m looking for. I want to connect with someone, someone who doesn’t care how much it is, someone who has a hunch and the passion and goes for it, someone like me, it sounds selfish but someone like me”. The amount is relatively big anyway, it’s my biggest giveaway, and I’m happy just thinking about it, knowing that I’m going to put a smile on someone’s face from behind the heavy drapes without showing my face I guess, and peep and watch as that person or those two students rejoice, as I do, everytime my application goes through.

Now I know what it feels like to be on the other side of a scholarship application, or perhaps. It seems small now, but I know it’s going to get bigger. And I’m glad already. It’s something I should have started as part of my NGO in 2015 before I left for school, but it’s never too late. Let’s help improve someone’s life, let’s make education less of a burden, let’s promote a good cause.

 

Leave a Reply

